My journey from zero to full stack developer! - Dev Retro 2022

My journey from zero to full stack developer! - Dev Retro 2022

I was a complete beginner in programming at the start of 2022 but now I'm a full-stack developer, this article covers the same story.

ยท

4 min read

The year 2022 came with lots of new adventures, opportunities, skills, etc for me. At the start of 2022, I was a complete beginner in programming. I barely knew about what is programming and what is a developer. But now I'm a full-stack web developer.

And this is the exact reason why 2022 plays the most important role that changed my life and way of thinking completely.

Introduction

Before moving further let me give you a quick introduction of mine!

I'm a full-stack web developer and open-source contributor. I love to play around with code. I'm currently working on my open-source project called Threadify I love to try new technologies and I also love to meet with new people.

Now let's talk about my journey in 2022!

How was I introduced to programming?

We all know how the past 2 - 3 years have gone in our lives, the whole world was got quarantined and all people started working from home.

Because of this pandemic, my school was also closed. no outgoing, no friends, and no classes made me feel bored. Then I started playing online games all day long. Because of curiosity, I searched on youtube that how games are made.

And this was the exact moment I got to know about programming and programming languages.

Which programming language I started with?

Believe it or not, I had changed learning programming languages so frequently that anyone can ever do.

At first, because I was so excited to make games I started learning c++ because one of the videos that I watched on youtube suggested learning it.

And you know which code editor I started with? It was 'Turbo C++' ๐Ÿ˜‚, Because of the complex interface of Turbo C++. I gave up on programming in just some days.

Then I got to know about C#, It's a programming language that is being used by game developers to develop games in the unity game engine. I started learning it and guess I gave up on it too, In just a few days.

After that, I started learning python because I felt like it was specially made for dumb people like me, but... you know that After I started with Java and continued with it till OOP came.

One of the funny incidents that took place while learning Java is that I literally started memorizing the main method of Java. I was repeatedly saying and memorizing it like 'public static void main(String[] args)'.

And at this point, I got the most important lesson of programming one should not focus on memorizing code but on understanding it.

My turn to web development

After all the drama I mentioned above, I finally decided to stick with only one programming language and this language was non another than 'HTML'... oh! sorry! sorry! sorry! it was 'JavaScript'.

I learned HTML, CSS, JavaScript, React, Node.js, Next.js, and MongoDB on youtube without even spending $1.

And this made me think that there are already lots of free resources to learn something you want, then why do people make excuses?

My journey into open source

I joined open-source because I wanted to look cool on Twitter. But later on, I actually figured out the advantages of doing open-source development.

I started by putting all of my side project code on GitHub at that point I was just developing my projects and hosting them. After that, I started contributing to other open-source projects and that went pretty well.

Doing open source increased my communication as well as collaboration skills, it increased my coding skills too.

Other skills and activities

Apart from coding and programming, I have done pretty well things in 2022 which lead to helping increase my personality.

I started creating content (Threads) on Twitter and my writing skills have increased. I also started creating conversations with other developers on Twitter. Because I was a nerd and Introvert from starting but by this, but I overcame my fear of communicating.

I have also done lots of coffee chats and group chats with other developers and it leads to improving my communication skills.

Conclusion

Ultimately, 2022 was a great year for me and I'm grateful to grab those opportunities I got in 2022. I'm planning to improve my skills more and more in 2023.

Thank you so much for reading, If you want to ask me any questions, you can freely DM me on Twitter or you can contact me at

ย